Whats New

DEVILDRIVER Reveal Surreal Music Video for Anthemic New Single, “Wishing”

California’s DEVILDRIVER have revealed the music video for new song “Wishing”, the latest track taken from their hotly anticipated new album Dealing With Demons I, set for release on 2nd October via Napalm Records.

“Wishing” follows in the wake of the previously released “Keep Away From Me”, “Iona” and “Nest Of Vipers” and comes with a dreamlike official music video which you can watch at the link below. The video is the band’s most surreal visual yet – placing each member of DEVILDRIVER in a nightmarish state, trying to physically reach their loved ones just to have them disappear once they’ve nearly grasped them. Echoing the lyrical themes of the track itself, Dez and his bandmates experience this loss again and again down an eerie rabbit hole, surrounded by faceless beings and distorted imagery. The “Wishing” video was shot in separate locations for each band member, with social distancing practiced as a priority. The finished product was directed by Vicente Cordero/Industrialism Films.

As Dealing With Demons I explores the purging of a different demon per track and “Wishing” illustrates a theme of loss – more specifically, wishing a loved one would return. The clean vocals mark frontman Dez Fafara’s first in DEVILDRIVER’s history, harking back to his Goth roots. Influences of Bauhaus, Sisters of Mercy and more can be heard in Dez’s brooding vocal verse delivery, while a heavy chorus punches with raw emotion as he screams, “wishing you were with me right now!

Dealing With Demons I marks the band’s first release of new, original material since 2016’s acclaimed Trust No One. This isn’t just the most vicious DEVILDRIVER material to date, but some of their most lethally memorable too. Produced and engineered by Steve Evetts with additional engineering from guitarist Mike Spreitzer, it’s a triumph of teamwork and tenacity. With new milestones like Dez Fafara’s eerie verses on ‘Wishing’ and the frontman’s first co-authored lyric, Dealing With Demons I ferociously delivers the goods while kicking open several new doors for DEVILDRIVER to power through in the future. From the self-explanatory, explosive opener “Keep Away From Me” to the chilling imagery of “Iona”, this album is powerful evidence that Dez and his band mates have given DEVILDRIVER a volatile, visceral kick in the ass. Demons are getting dealt with in the harshest of manners.
Fans should be prepared for what is to come with the second volume of the double album, which promises to go even harder. This is a two-part acceleration into the future.

Dealing With Demons I
1. Keep Away From Me
2. Vengeance Is Clear
3. Nest Of Vipers
4. Iona
5. Wishing
6. You Give Me A Reason To Drink (feat. Simon Blade Fafara)
7. Witches
8. Dealing With Demons
9. The Damned Don’t Cry
10. Scars Me Forever


About Chris Jennings (1986 Articles)
I love metal. Always have. Always will. As editor of Worship Metal - a site dedicated to being as positive about metal and its myriad of sub-genres as possible - my aim is to 'worship' metal through honest reviews, current news and a wide variety of features; offering the same exposure to underground bands as we do to mainstream/well known acts. Our mantra; the bands are partners and we exist to serve the bands \m/

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.