Whats New

Saxon To Release 9 CD Box Set: The Solid Book of Rock!

Latter day Saxon material receives its own special box set.....

Forget box-sets and pick up The Book Set!

British heavy metal legends, SAXON, are to release The Solid Book of Rock, on August 18th 2017.

The set comprises not only all 9(!) of Saxon’s studio albums from 1991 to 2009 BUT eight bonus tracks AND two bonus CDs – Classics Re-Recorded (originally issued with the initial pressings of Killing Ground) and Lionheart Rough Studio Mix (originally issued on the 2006 limited edition).

This metal-tastic Book Set also contains three bonus DVDs – the limited-edition DVDs originally released with Lionheart, The Inner Sanctum and Into The Labyrinth.

All this comes packaged in a sumptuous 24 page 12” x 12” booklet with all the lyrics and credits, plus photos with fabulous brand-new cover painting by Paul R. Gregory!

An exclusive limited-edition containing a print signed by the one and only Biff Byford will also be available from Amazon http://amzn.to/2rODyxo

Standard Edition – http://amzn.to/2sibMw5

Saxon frontman Biff Byford says: “It’s worth getting just for the art work. A great piece of Saxon history and don’t forget I get to play King Arthur, I didn’t get the Oscar that year or anything else for that matter”  

The Solid Book of Rock comprises Saxon’s STUDIO ALBUMS circa 1991-2009 . That’s a massive 9 original albums PLUS 2 bonus CDs AND 3 bonus DVDs! 

The albums are:

Solid Ball Of Rock

Forever Free

Dogs Of War

Unleash The Beast


Killing Ground


The Inner Sanctum

Into The Labyrinth 

Book Set Full Tracklist & Bonus material are as follows:

Solid Ball Of Rock (1991)

  1. Solid Ball Of Rock
  2. Altar Of The Gods
  3. Requiem (We Will Remember)
  4. Lights In the Sky
  5. I Just Can’t Get Enough
  6. Baptism Of Fire
  7. Ain’t Gonna Take It
  8. I’m On Fire
  9. Overture In B-Minor / Refugee
  10. Bavarian Beaver
  11. Crash Dive

Bonus Tracks: 12. Requiem (We Will Remember) [single version] 13. Reeperbahn Stomp

Forever Free (1992)

  1. Forever Free
  2. Hole In The Sky
  3. Just Wanna Make Love To You
  4. Get Down And Dirty
  5. Iron Wheels
  6. One Step Away
  7. Can’t Stop Rockin’
  8. Nighthunter
  9. Grind
  10. Cloud Nine

Bonus Tracks: 11. Princess Of The Night [live] 12. Forever Free [live]

Dogs of War (1995)

  1. Dogs Of War
  2. Burning Wheels
  3. Don’t Worry
  4. Big Twin Rolling (Coming Home)
  5. Hold On
  6. The Great White Buffalo
  7. Demolition Alley
  8. Walking Through Tokyo
  9. Give It All Away
  10. Yesterday’s Gone

Bonus Tracks: 11. The Great White Buffalo [live] 12. Denim And Leather [live]

Unleash The Beast (1997)

  1. Gothic Dreams
  2. Unleash The Beast
  3. Terminal Velocity
  4. Circle Of Light
  5. The Thin Red Line
  6. Ministry Of Fools
  7. The Preacher
  8. Bloodletter
  9. Cut Out The Disease
  10. Absent Friends
  11. All Hell Breaking Loose

Bonus Tracks: 12. Solid Ball Of Rock [live] on SPV 74192 CD in 2007 13. Crusader [live] on SPV 74192 CD in 2007

Metalhead (1999)

  1. Intro
  2. Metalhead
  3. Are We Travellers In Time
  4. Conquistador
  5. What Goes Around
  6. Song Of Evil
  7. All Guns Blazing
  8. Prisoner
  9. Piss Off
  10. Watching You
  11. Sea Of Life

Killing Ground (2001)

  1. Intro
  2. Killing Ground
  3. Court Of The Crimson King
  4. Coming Home
  5. Until Hell Freezes Over
  6. Dragon’s Lair
  7. You Don’t Know What You’ve Got
  8. Deeds Of Glory
  9. Running For The Border
  10. Shadows On The Wall
  11. Rock Is Our Life

Bonus CD – ‘Classics Re-Recorded’:

Princess Of The Night

  1. Crusader
  2. Wheels Of Steel
  3. Motorcycle Man
  4. Strong Arm Of The Law
  5. Denim And Leather
  6. Dallas 1pm
  7. And The Bands Played On

Lionheart (2004)

  1. Witchfinder General
  2. Man And Machine
  3. The Return
  4. Lionheart
  5. Beyond The Grave
  6. Justice
  7. To Live By The Sword
  8. Jack Tars
  9. English Man O’War
  10. Searching For Atlantis
  11. Flying On The Edge

Bonus CD:

Studio Audio – Rough Mix [moved from the DVD]

  1. Witchfinder General
  2. Man And Machine
  3. The Return
  4. Lionheart
  5. Beyond The Grave
  6. Justice
  7. To Live By The Sword
  8. Jack Tars
  9. English Man O’War
  10. Searching For Atlantis
  11. Flying On The Edge
  12. Beyond The Grave [single version]

Bonus DVD:

  1. Lionheart – in the studio [3.32]
  2. Lionheart – live [7.40]
  3. Beyond The Grave – promo video [3.45]
  4. 5.1 96k high end sound mix of the entire album [11 tracks] [45.09]

The Inner Sanctum (2007)

  1. State Of Grace
  2. Need For Speed
  3. Let Me Feel Your Power
  4. Red Star Falling
  5. I’ve Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)
  6. If I Was You
  7. Going Nowhere Fast
  8. Ashes To Ashes
  9. Empire Rising
  10. Attila The Hun

Bonus DVD: “A Night Out With The Boys” [41.26]

  1. To Hell And Back Again
  2. A Night Out With Boys – The Idea
  3. A Night Out With Boys – Not Really
  4. See The Light Shining
  5. A Night Out With Boys – How It Started
  6. Redline
  7. Suzie Hold On
  8. Stand Up And Be Counted
  9. Frozen Rainbow
  10. Never Surrender

Into the Labyrinth (2009)

  1. Battalions Of Steel
  2. Live To Rock
  3. Demon Sweeney Todd
  4. The Letter
  5. Valley Of The Kings
  6. Slow Lane Blues
  7. Crime Of Passion
  8. Premonition In D Minor
  9. Voice
  10. Protect Yourselves
  11. Hellcat
  12. Come Rock Of Ages (The Circle Is Complete)
  13. Coming Home [bottleneck version]

Bonus DVD:

  1. “Perceval” – Spanish art film, directed by Pablo Aragues Millan [20.09] [in Latin with subtitles]

(Biff plays King Arthur)

  1. “Let There Be Light” – documentary about the live staging and lighting [36.48] [in German with subtitles]
  2. Audio interview with Biff Byford – Biff talks about the songs on “Into The Labyrinth” [18.44]

Catalogue Number: SAXONBOX03
Barcode:: 5 014797 896161
Format: 11 CDs & 3 DVDs in 12” x 12” book
Release date: 18th August 2017

Twitter: @Saxonofficial

Saxon released their self-titled debut in 1979, followed by the classic Wheels of Steel the following year, catapulting the band to fame, reaching #5 in the UK charts and containing the still popular title track and the iconic 747.

They went on to establish themselves as one of the icons of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal throughout the 80s.

The band then tried to attack the US market, taking a more melodic direction with release of Destiny in 1988, before going back to their original sound with 1991’s Solid Balls of Rock, reaffirming their influence on the European metal scene. They continued touring and recording enjoying continued success.

Saxon saw album sales topping 15 million worldwide including 8 UK Top 40 albums across their career. They are considered a seminal NWOBHM act and are known to have inspired the likes of Metallica, Megadeth, Pantera, Motley Crue and plenty more…..grab a slice of there latter day history and find out why they are still considered icons of British heavy metal!

Solid Book Of Rock packshot small copy

About Chris Jennings (1986 Articles)
I love metal. Always have. Always will. As editor of Worship Metal - a site dedicated to being as positive about metal and its myriad of sub-genres as possible - my aim is to 'worship' metal through honest reviews, current news and a wide variety of features; offering the same exposure to underground bands as we do to mainstream/well known acts. Our mantra; the bands are partners and we exist to serve the bands \m/

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.