Whats New

The 10 Greatest Releases from the North East New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NENWOBHM)!

That's quite the mouthful!

Hellanbach – Now Hear This (1983)

Track Listing:

  1. “Dancin'”
  2. “Tines Are Getting Harder”
  3. “Look At Me”
  4. “All Systems Go”
  5. “Maybe Tomorrow”
  6. “Motivated By Desire”
  7. “Taken By Surprise”
  8. “Let’s Get This Show On The Road”
  9. “Kick It Out”
  10. “All The Way”
  11. “Everybody Wants TO Be A Cat”

Much has already been said regarding Hellanbach‘s status as Van Halen rip-off merchants and to elaborate further would be discourteous. Instead, we’ll concentrate on the fact that Now Hear This absolutely ripped, with Dave Patton proving himself to be an outstanding guitar player as he unleashed every trick in the book in a maelstrom of guitar histrionics.

Sure, Hellanbach’s influence(s) were crystal clear but the likes of “Dancin'”, “All Systems Go” and “Kick It Out” remain party anthems of considerable charm; the kind of songs you throw on when you get home from work, knowing full well that a night of hard drinking and harder rock tunes awaits you!

Aside from “Everybody Wants To Be A Cat” – which is a complete waste of everyone’s time-  Now Hear This is worthy of far more than its ‘Halenbach’ reputation.

About Chris Jennings (1986 Articles)
I love metal. Always have. Always will. As editor of Worship Metal - a site dedicated to being as positive about metal and its myriad of sub-genres as possible - my aim is to 'worship' metal through honest reviews, current news and a wide variety of features; offering the same exposure to underground bands as we do to mainstream/well known acts. Our mantra; the bands are partners and we exist to serve the bands \m/

1 Comment on The 10 Greatest Releases from the North East New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NENWOBHM)!

  1. Hi. The Hollow Ground tracks on the Roksnax album aren’t the same four from the ‘Warlord’ EP (those tracks were Flying High/Warlord/Rock On/Don’t Chase The Dragon). Apologies if this has been pointed out before.

    I mention it only because I was lucky enough on Saturday to find a copy of the original EP on Guardian with the picture cover.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.